top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessy

Confidence as a Songwriter

Be You

Hi there sidekicks! As a creative, I feel one of the most difficult challenges we face is having confidence. This could be in the songs we make, within performance, or within our identity and artist persona. Songwriting is an art form, and like all art, it is subjective. Trying to please everyone or coming up with a fool proof formula to a good song just won't work. Once you have established your image and voice, you must have confidence in what you are trying to sell or say to your audience. Half of the battle lies within the storytelling. Are you confident in your message? Are you writing about your passions? Yes, there is a place for commercial structures and business minded creations, this is the same within any professional career. However as a songwriter, we have the unique opportunity to intertwine our 9 to 5 with our deepest passions and dreams. So firstly I want to encourage you to have confidence in yourself. In who you are, and what you have to say. Your voice matters.

Be Bold

Secondly I would like to say, be bold within your choices. For a long time I got stuck within a system that has previously worked for me. Simple piano structures and big vocals are signature to my songs. However, I became aware that a lot of the songs I was creating sounded the same. I got too comfortable within the safe boundaries I had set around my creative juices. Which is crazy! We have the whole musical world at our disposal. Having the courage to mix new sounds, genres and styles can set a songwriter apart in a sea of similar voices. This can lead to exciting collaborations and diverse pairings. Take for example "This Feeling," by The Chainsmokers and Kelsea Ballerini, which mixes country and EDM. The rich tones of country guitar and vocals fit nicely with the beats of EDM. Don't be afraid to mix things together which aren't the norm.

Be Loud
One of my greatest challenges as a songwriter is performance. It can be a vulnerable thing to stand in front of a room of people and pour out your personal music to be judged. What will they think? What do they think of me? Is this as good as I hope it is? The only advice I can give, which I have found to work for me, is to sing loud! Not everyone is going to be a fan, but that shouldn't stop you from sharing your work, passions and talents. No - one can define you by their judgements or opinions. Yes, take criticism, listen well and adapt to the industry and trends around you. Yet always remember to be true to yourself and your story. Always be bold enough to confidently say how you want your songs to sound. This can be within a live setting or in the studio. Producers are incredible workers and collaborators, with amazing ideas and insight, but your vision and voice must be heard! Don't shy away from holding creative control. You are the storyteller and your story must be told.

You’ll never do a whole lot unless you’re brave enough to try.” - Dolly Parton

Go and be amazing!

Jessy x
3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page