top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie Ida

Intro to Katie

Updated: Sep 30, 2022

Hello! It's Katie here, one half of Sidekick Songwriters, ready to unmask some songwriting secrets I've uncovered in my 9 years of learning and shaping my craft, which by the way, is an endless but wonderful challenge to have.

I would describe myself as a songwriting chameleon, I camouflage my writing style through my listening tastes. Finding a hidden gem in an ocean of noise is what sends my passion tingling. This always leaves me thinking, why not aspire to write the most beautiful song that ever existed. I can accept I will never be Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney or Carole King but I can hope to be the best version of myself and this makes for a much more satisfying and achievable goal.

As someone who has had their fair share of experiences with writers block, I have come to the conclusion that the only block I found was myself. As a 13 year old I never questioned how good my songs were, I wrote them because I wanted to. I had no end of ideas because my imagination was alive, I was never afraid to tell stories or speak my truth. Know this, the child in you, doesn't judge, question or reject ideas. The child in you embraces, dreams and trusts that the words that hit the page are the right ones.

Get to know me

Who is one of your all time favourite songwriters?

Jeff Buckley.

What is one song you wished you could have wrote?

Both Sides Now by Joni Mitchell

Name some songs that remind you of your childhood.

I'm Like A Bird by Nellie Furtado, Tears Dry On Their Own by Amy Winehouse and Thank You by Dido.

Name a song that you enjoyed listening to recently.

Lights Out - Madeleine Mayi. A truly wonderful artist, with mega bops and lyrics that tug at the heart strings.

Katie



18 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page