top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessy

Intro to Jessy.

Updated: Sep 30, 2022

Hello, it's Jessy here, one-half of Sidekick Songwriters. My journey into fully embracing songwriting and music was a winding one, with 15+ years of little steps of courage. Being bold enough to choose a creative profession is a task enough on its own. So many things tried to grab my attention before I fully decided to pursue a career in music. Most often the opinions of those around me, or my own self-doubt.

I feel so blessed to have been given musical gifts and talents because it is such an exciting path to navigate. Creative fatigue is a real challenge within this line of work. I am learning to intentionally fill myself up so I have enough stored in me to give. As a Christian artist and worship leader, this includes spending time with God and reading my Bible. I am not a perfect person; I am not called to be, however, I am called to arm myself against those things which would seek to drain me from my calling and creative contributions to the Church. When you have something valuable to say or give, you will face opposition. Although this can be tough, it's exciting to know the impact you will have on those around you.

Music is a powerful tool. It has ways of speaking into situations where words alone fail. As songwriters, we get to explore this gift and share it with the desperate world around us. I hope you will lean in, and soak up the advice we have to share.I pray it will help you in your journey, wherever it may lead.

Get to know me

Who is one of your all time favourite songwriters?

Sara Bareilles and Dolly Parton

What is one song you wished you could have wrote?

You Already Know - JJ Heller

Name some songs that remind you of your childhood?

Kelly Clarkson - Breakaway, Pixie Lott - Cry Me Out, Taylor Swift - Love Story, Leona Lewis - Footprints in the Sand, Keith Green - Create in me a Clean Heart, Michael W. Smith - Let it Rain

Name a song that you enjoyed listening to recently?

In Jesus Name (God of Possible) - Katy Nichole


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page